Sunday Memories

slice-of-life_individual

This staying home has finally led to a day where I couldn’t find something to write about.  To solve this problem I pulled up a list of journal prompts that I give to my students looking for just the perfect one.  I finally found the perfect prompt for me, write about Sunday memories.

Some of my earliest Sunday memories include my grandparents and church.  I remember sitting in church with my family including my grandparents.  I remember my grandmother teaching me about how to read during church.  She would hold the hymnal down so that I could see it also and then she would use her finger to help me to follow along with the words.  This was before I was even in school. During the sermon, grandma would reward me with a sour cherry piece of candy.  I loved these candies.  I wish I could find them again, but I don’t believe that they are made anymore.

After church, Grandpa and Grandma Holst would take my brother and I out to eat.  We usually went to Chef’s Hat in Bettendorf. All 4 of us would get the same meal, chicken dinner with mashed potatoes and the salad bar.  My grandmother, brother, and I would get the 2 piece chicken dinner and Grandpa always had the 3 piece dinner.  They had some of the best friend chicken I had ever had.  I wonder if it would taste as good now.

So many wonderful memories of my grandparents, I really wish my children could have known their great grandparents.  My girls were gypped when it comes to grandparents, but that is for another slice.

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Memories

  1. Your last line is compelling! I want to hear THAT story!
    Such lovely memories with your grandparents and church. The sour candies reminded me of a time in church when I was a child. The woman in front of us turned around and offered each of us a rootbeer flavored life savor. I thought that was so nice until the end of the service when my mother scolded us all, explaining that the woman had given us life savors to SHUT US UP!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment