Fully Vaccinated

As of Friday, 100 of our staff are now fully vaccinated with the rest to follow this coming Friday. I was so excited to be in the first round. I know that not everyone agrees with the shot and that is fine. I just want things to begin to return to normal. I want to see my students faces. I don’t want to have to be on Zoom at the same time that I am trying to teach in person.

After hearing everyone’s stories I had prepared myself to have complications and not feel well the next day. After round one, I had chills and a slight low grade fever 99.8. The chills lasted for a few hours and by the time I woke up the next day I was fine. Earlier this past week, I had my yearly physical and the receptionists were telling me how bad they felt less than 24 hours after the shot. I was prepared for a similar reaction this time around. Thankfully, the only problem I had was a slight soreness in my upper arm at the injection site.

As more and more people become vaccinated I am really hoping that we can begin to return to somewhat of a normal lifestyle. I miss people, I miss hugs, I miss having places to go, I miss teaching my students from the front of the room where I can see their faces and expressions.

I miss seeing my daughter’s concerts. I wrote about that earlier this past week. I miss traveling and getting to see new parts of the country.

What are you looking forward to the most?

3 thoughts on “Fully Vaccinated

  1. Hi, I liked reading your slice. It was like having a conversation. Your slice describes the universal feeling of happiness about vaccination but still waiting for more normal to return. I have had one shot and am anxious for my second, so I can sigh a big sigh of relief when I enter my school. I look forward to going into my parents’ home and spending time with them indoors…a meal, that’s what we love to do together. I miss browsing in shops. I miss having coffee with friends. I miss hugging too! We will get through this. So much patience is needed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading you post makes me so jealous! My appointment for my first shot isn’t until late April, though most of my friends have already been vaccinated one way or another. I can’t bring myself to think too much past April–for fear of getting my hopes up too high!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment