I miss them.

slice-of-life_individual

Today my youngest DD started her online classes.  A couple of her professors just sent a message with what homework to work on, but two of her professors were online with a Google Hangout.  I was able to hear the professors talk to the students.  Basically, they spent some time going over what the new requirements would be for the class and how things would be handled, but what I heard repeatedly from them was how good it was to see their students, how much they had missed seeing them, how worried they were about the students and how they were doing, and how thrilled they were to “see” their students again.  All of them also said repeatedly, that they planned to still have office hours and if there was anything that the student needed, even if it wasn’t related to their class, to please come on and talk to them.  They are still there for their students.  As a parent, I loved hearing this.  It is nice to know that others care about my daughter and she is in good hands.

What struck me even more, is how much I miss my students.  There was no chance to really say goodbye to them.  Are they doing ok, are they following the stay at home rules, what about the one student that I haven’t seen since Christmas, is she doing ok?  So many questions, without any really good answers.

6 thoughts on “I miss them.

  1. I miss my students too. I teach 8th grade, so my students will be off to high school next year. It’s just strange to think I may not see them again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. > So many questions, without any really good answers.<

    This is a teacher's life right now. So much questions about student, questions about learning, and worrying about our own family with their safety. It's hard to imagine that it's only been a month and that the Challenge will be done tomorrow.

    Thank you for sharing this thoughtful slice! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment