End of the Quarter

It is the end of the quarter, so I am sitting in a hotel room 3 1/2 hours from home trying to get grading done.  It would be so much easier, if I didn’t have to keep going back and checking for late and missing work.  Even though we finished this unit at the end of February I am  still grading all of the formative lessons that went into the paper.  We have a policy this year of students can turn their work in at any time and we can’t penalize them for late work, plus they can redo any assignment as often as they want to.  While I totally understand the reasons behind these policies and why we do it, I just want to say to the students do your best work the first time.  So many times it is not a case of they have learned more but that they do the assignment, project, test, whatever as quick as possible with as little effort as possible.  After they submit the assignment, and I have graded it, they get mad at me.  We have gotten to the point where the students no longer seem to care about doing their best work or even learning.  This makes me really sad. Not sure what I can do to get the students to want to try and do their best.

3 thoughts on “End of the Quarter

Leave a comment