A wasted week

After going to school yesterday and attempting to teach, I was wiped.  Ended up sleeping sitting up in a chair, just so I wouldn’t cough as much and then this morning when I tried to shower and get ready, I couldn’t do it.  Had trouble breathing again.  So day 5 of not going to school. (special note for any administrator, I really hate not being there, sorry).  As luck would have it, my doctor is still out of town so I had fun visiting with the on-call doctor.  I liked her much better than last Friday’s doctor.  Spent a total of 5 minutes with last Fridays and he prescribed an antibiotic similar to penicillin which I am allergic to.  He knew that but figured the benefits would outway any possible problems. Today’s doctor spent much more time with me, ran a few tests and gave me a shot plus a breathing treatment.  Yep, already doing better.  Several hours later her office calls me with the results, Stop taking the medicine you are on, it is not doing you any good, Switch to this medicine and follow up with your doctor when he comes back next week.  After the first dose of the second medicine, I am already noticing a change in my breathing.  Will be taking the antibiotic here soon, that has to be 12 hours apart and I don’t want to be getting up at 4:30 every day to take medicine, so waiting until 6:00.  Here is hoping I feel much better soon and am able to head back to school.  Shakespeare and the Merchant of Venice are calling to me, and hopefully, my students will enjoy it also.

 

4 thoughts on “A wasted week

  1. Sickness this year seems to hang on and on. Glad you were able to get some medicine that seems to be working. At least you have a weekend for a few days of relaxing and healing. Get well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment