Handyman’s Holiday Hop

Handyman's Blog

A few weeks ago I happened to mention that I would be participating in a Handyman’s Holiday Blog Hop.  The challenge behind this was to take a 2inch paint brush and alter the brush for one of the fall holidays. I was a bit nervous at first, I am quite good at following directions and recreating something, but not so good at creating my own unique look.  While we were free to choose from any fall holiday, I, of course, had to pick Christmas it is my favorite holiday after all. While my paintbrush is not as elaborate as some of the others, I am good with it because I usually try to keep my work simple, with a clean look to it. I am also quite happy with this project as I used stuff I already had on hand.  Besides the paint brush, I didn’t have to purchase anything.

P1030459 I started with a basic 2-inch paint brush.  The package I purchased came with 2 brushes.  I am thinking that I might try my hand at a graduation paint brush.  Shhhh that will be a secret (here is hoping that my daughters don’t read my blog). I was trying to decide what color to paint my brush when I remembered that I had some alcohol inks left over from a project several years ago and haven’t used them since.  I used both a red and a green for the brush, I am quite happy with the finished look of the wood after using the inks. I need to remember to play with the alcohol inks more often.

P1030460

P1030461

P1030462I found a couple of ribbons that I thought would be fun and add to the Christmasy feel.

Next step was a few snowflake stickers to go with the snowflake ribbon and the Christmas/Winter feeling.

I continued adding embellishments and stickers that would complement the Christmas theme.

P1030470

The finished front side of the brush and below is the finished back side.

P1030471

Thank you for joining us on the Handyman’s Holiday Hop. Make the rounds and be inspired. The next stop is D’s Paper Studio with guest blogger Beth Williams. Anytime you get lost a list of blogs is on D’s Paper Studio at http://debbysdares.blogspot.com

Our “Be Inspired Giftaway is featured at D’s Paper Studio. Check out Debby’s blog for details. Four winners will be chosen from comments on all the blog posts in the Handyman’s Holiday Hop.

Thanks to our generous sponsors:

Quick Quotes Scrapbook Company

Heartfelt Creation

Helmar

D’s Paper Studio

 

22 thoughts on “Handyman’s Holiday Hop

  1. This is so much fun. My two favorite parts are the deer and “I believe in Santa.” Me too. You did a wonderful job. I can see this hanging on your Christmas tree! Thank you, Colleen.

    Like

  2. Pretty altered brush Colleen!
    Oh, I love your inky handle, so clever decorating both sides too … it could become a creative substitute for mistletoe 🙂 Have fun with your graduation brush … I haven’t tried my hand at one yet, looking forward to giving it a go real soon!
    Thank You for sharing and inspiring!
    TracyM #6773 from Australia

    Like

  3. This is so sweet-brings back fond memories of Christmases of my youth. Love how you did the handle. Perfect decoration for a tree.

    Like

  4. You may think its more simple than the rest but that doesnt take away from how sweet and pretty it is. I think its just enough. That deer is too cute!! You did a wonderful job!!

    Like

  5. Colleen, you did a fabulous, creative, and heartwarming job on your paintbrush. How many people still need to believe in Santa. I enjoyed working with you and thank you for participating thought your creativity, blogging, and input in making this all happen. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

