B stands for Bullying

B

Today’s word of the day is Bullying.  As a high school teacher and a mother of two girls, this is something that I see the way too often.  I am really tired of seeing people think it is okay to bully others.  For some reason, people seem to think that they must demand their own way instead of learning to share or cooperate with others.  People seem to think that it is okay to make fun of others, call people names, or otherwise make someone’s life miserable. I have seen people in power, demand that someone do something way outside of their job description just because that person in power doesn’t like the other person.  I have seen college roommates lock their roommate out of the dorm room just because the other person attended church and they don’t agree with it.  I have seen college roommates take up all the shelves in the refrigerator and leave the other two roommates the door and vegetable drawers just because they thought that they needed more room for their food and meals than the other two combined. I have seen boys asking girls to a school dance and then not following through with it, I have seen boys standing girls up just because someone dared them to do it.  I have seen girls calling other girls names, just because the one girl said hi to a boy that the other girl liked.  I have seen girls harass each other for so many stupid reasons.  I have seen high school kids and some younger kill themselves because they couldn’t take the bullying anymore. When I complain about the bullying and say that something needs to be done, I have a person look at me and say, but it has been going on since my dad was a kid.

When I complain about the bullying and say that something needs to be done, I have a person look at me and say, but it has been going on since my dad was a kid.  Yes, it has, but just because it has been happening since the beginning of time doesn’t mean we have to sit back and watch it happen.  Since when is it okay to allow children to make other children feel bad?  When did we stop carrying about others? Sadly, our kids are watching us and some of them are discovering that it is okay to bully just because they see adults doing treating others badly.  We need to start standing up for people, we need to demand that people treat others the way they want to be treated.

While I realize that we will never totally eradicate bullying, we can reduce it and make sure that at least our kids do not contribute to the problem.  Let’s make sure that our kids join together to find the solution.  I for one will do my part, because I am tired of watching my daughters or my students struggle with the effect of someone bullying them.  Will you join me in this fight?

 

Leave a Reply

