Can we all win?

slice-of-life_individual

If the game of life ended today would you be a winner?  I saw this quote the other day.  It was the opening line to a book my daughter is reading for one of her college classes, The Winner’s Manual by Jim Tressel.  She found this quote to be very interesting, enough so that she had to bring it to my attention.

As I have thought about and pondered this quote, I have wondered what does it mean to be a winner in the game of life?  I am sure that the answer will vary depending on the person who is asked.  I am sure that if you are a coach or athlete it would probably be something along the lines of the number of games you have won. I am sure for others it might be how much money or stuff that they have accumulated.

In the scheme of life are any of these things really important?  Is there something more important that we need to be shooting for?  Should we always be striving to win the game of life?  My brother commented that winning would be mean that there is someone else that has to lose.  Is it possible for all of us to win?

So what do you think?  Is it possible to win? Can we all be winners?

2 thoughts on “Can we all win?

  1. This is an interesting question to think about. I think it would be good for us to be the winners of our own lives. I think “winning” can mean different things for different people, and that’s ok.

    Like

  2. The coach in me says, if you are putting forth the best possible effort you can, then there is no way that you can lose. There will be ups and down, but not giving up, not giving in will always make you a winner in the game of life.

    Goodness, that’s so coach-like! 🙂 Thank you posing such a great question!

    Like

Leave a Reply

