Quote of the Day

slice-of-life_individual

“To live is the rarest thing in the world.
Most people exist, that is all.”  –Oscar Wilde (Irish writer and poet)

A couple of years ago, I purchased Sacred Writing Time Slides from a website (now available on Teachers Pay Teachers).  I love these slides as they usually have one of the mini holidays on the slide, they also include a trivia fact, a quote of the day and a vocabulary word and definition of the day. I use these slides to spark my students writing.  The quote of the day from March 2nd struck me as interesting.  Do I exist or do I live?  From now on, I want to make sure that I am living and not just existing and going through the motions. We have no idea how much time we have, so let’s make the most of our time.

11 thoughts on “Quote of the Day

  1. Great food for thought. There are definitely days when I just exist. My spring break starts on Saturday so I feel like I am just existing right now and hoping to make it. BUT I am really looking forward to joining the living again on Saturday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand that one and as I sit here at home exhausted, I feel like I am just existing. However, sometimes the body needs that down time also. Enjoy your Spring Break, my husband and daughters begin theirs on Friday.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s easy to get caught up in the motions. It takes real insight to live and be present in our lives. This writing challenge is truly helping me to be more present and aware of my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with the previous commentor- don’t you feel that doing this writing creates a habit of reflection? I think that’s the difference between existing and living. And we can’t possible reflect and be fully aware of everything, but we can increase our awareness. Thanks for making us- and your students- think 🙂

    Like

  4. Wonderful quote. Great prompts for student writing. I like to think as our time with students as more than transactional, but transformative. Surely that fits the theme of living instead of merely existing.

    Like

  5. I love the quote of the day concept. Quotes are so good at reflecting and thinking. Your quote makes me wonder… I am pretty sure that I just exist on many days. I should change this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

