Two Part Summer

For years now, I have always mentally divided my summer into two parts.

Part 1: This started the day school ended for the summer and lasts until the last day of the county fair.  Here I think I have lots of free time, except I am pushing a child to get her 4-H projects done, including the write ups.  This is a never ending struggle that always last up to the very last minute.  This year she finally finished everything around 11:30 pm the day before conference judging, had to be there at 7:00 am. Every year I beg her to begin working on her projects sometime in October, but like a typical teenager, she believes that she needs to sit around the house and not accomplish much of anything.

Part 2: This begins the day after the county fair ends.  All of the sudden, my brain switches into school mode.  I will wake up in the middle of the night with an idea or two or three or…. I then need to get up and write these down or I will forget them.  I start making lists of things that I need to get done in my classroom so that I am ready for the first day.  I start going into school to work, so that I can access the copier before there is a crowd of people and it breaks down again.  So this year the fair was a week and a half/two weeks early.  I was really hoping that my mind would give me a break for a couple of weeks.  Sadly that didn’t happen.  Yes, I was already thinking up new ideas for this year, and today my brain wanted to sit down at my computer and lesson plan book and plan out an entire semester for one class and start to gather things for my other classes.  I even tried to concentrate on planning for the state fair this year.  My daughter has to be there early on a Friday and early on the Sunday, since it is a 3 hour drive, have decided that it would be better to go out and stay for 4 days.  But that didn’t help.  Even as I was researching and planning for the fair, my mind was thinking school in the background.

It won’t be long now.

5 thoughts on “Two Part Summer

  1. A friend of mine says summer vacation is like a weekend. June is Friday, July is Saturday and August is Sunday. My first back to school workshop is on August 4th. My feet are still firmly rooted in July, but my mind is starting to lean towards August.

    Like

  2. Since I’ve been spending my summer doing professional development, it has seemed especially short, but I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve done. I like the comparison of teacher summer to a weekend, because it is so true!
    Enjoy the rest of your summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

