Little Women

41sITe+GdoL._AA320_QL65_

I have to admit that when I checked my list for the word for today, I was pleased to see Little Women.  I can’t tell you the times that I read this book and a couple of others by Louise May Alcott.  I remember my grandmother having a collection of about 6 green hardcover books all written by Louise May Alcott.  Of course, anytime I saw books when I was little I read them.  I believe that Little Women was the first one that I actually read. It didn’t take me long to fall in love with Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy. Oh how I rejoiced when their dad was well enough to come home, and I cried so with Beth left the little family. How how I laughed at their antics when Laurie and his Grandfather joined them.

From Amazon “When it was first published over a century ago, author Louisa May Alcott’s novel, “Little Women”, which traces the life of four sisters from childhood to womanhood, was an immediate commercial success. The reading public expressed such interest in the lives of the March sisters that Alcott also wrote two sequels to the novel. The story espoused the importance of virtue over wealth and established that domestic work and true love were essential to the formation of each woman’s character. The book has been adapted multiple times in film and has been ranked in the top 100 books for children.”

This is truly a timeless book that all should read.

6 thoughts on “Little Women

  1. I’ve never read Little Women. I should read it to my kids since they’re growing up in Boston!

    I find it fascinating that Alcott liked writing “scandalous” potboilers but became famous for her family friendly work.

    Like

  2. I can’t count how many times I’ve read this book. My aunt mailed me this book for my birthday in 5th grade. Before that, I didn’t care too much for reading. After this book, that changed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

