The Giver

51bLnbNy15L._AA160_

I don’t remember the first time that I read this book.  I also don’t remember what attracted me to the book at the time.  I do recall that I enjoyed the book and found myself cheering for Jonas when he left home.

 

Amazon doesn’t have much of a background for this book.  The story line starts as a society that lives in a Utopian society.  One where everyone is treated equally and fairly.  For example, there is a ceremony every year where all children of a certain age receive the same thing.  I don’t remember for sure what each age level was, but one year all children receive their bikes, when they turn 12 they are given their jobs for the society.  Jonas has been chosen to be the new giver for the society.  The person that holds the memories and feels all of the joy, excitement and pain.

Leave a Reply

